Site news


OOC participates in OCA General Assembly in Cambodia



Oman Olympic Committee (OOC) participated in the 41st General Assembly of Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), which was held yesterday morning, “Tuesday” in Cambodian, headed by Raja Randhir Singh, OCA Acting President, in the presence of Hun Sen, Prime Minister of Cambodia, and Thong Khun, President of Cambodian Olympic Committee. In addition to representatives of 40 Asian Olympic Committees, and representatives of 4 Asian Olympic Committees follow-up to meet online.

OOC was represented by Taha bin Suleiman Al Kishri, OOC Secretary General, and Dr. Marwan bin Juma Al Jumaa, OOC Board Member.

Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen opened the meeting in the presence of about 400 sports personalities. During the opening, a minute of silence was observed in memory of the sports personalities and the victims of the soccer stadium tragedy in Indonesia that occurred last Saturday.

The meeting witnessed winning of the Saudi Arabia to host the 2029 Asian Winter Games, after the vote that took place with the participation of representatives of Asian National Olympic Committees.  Previously, hosting was limited to China, Japan, South Korea and Kazakhstan.

Reports were also reviewed on the latest preparations of the organizing committees for the next four Asian Games in Hangzhou 2023, Aichi-Nagoya 2026, Doha 2030, and Riyadh 2034, in addition to presenting reports on the file of Riyadh’s preparations to host the Asian Games for Indoor and Martial Arts Seventh 2025, and a file for hosting  Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games Thailand 2023.

Olympic Solidarity Committee of International Olympic Committee and the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) also reviewed the details of their latest work. During the meeting, the Medal of Merit was awarded to the President of the Olympic Committee of Cambodia, Dr. Thong Khun, and the Secretary-General of Olympic Committee of Vietnam, Tran Van Manh in recognition of their efforts in  Asian sports service for a long time, also Sheikh Fahad Award given to Dr. Chaturanga Ranasinghe and Dr. Marcus Lee, Hiroshima – Sports Medicine in Asia.